Skip to content

How a Baby Got Me a Job

October 3, 2010

Well, here we are just 2 months into being home in America, having traveled the world, in a manner of speaking…

…and I’m excited to inform you that a baby has gotten me a job! ๐Ÿ™‚ Read on for the explanation.

On August 2, I arrived home. And, forewarned of the current job market & economy, I anticipated a lengthy wait until I could find new employment.

So, not feeling too rushed or anxious about the job-hunt process, I headed out to Phoenix for 3 weeks. Here, I spent 20 wonderful days with my sister, Nora, brother-in-law, Travis, and niece and nephew, Kate and Grant, pictured with me below:

The days were filled with potty-training for Kate (2 years + 4 months), bottles for growing Grant (born May 13), and LOTS of coffee for the tired adults ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a neat time of re-connecting with my sister, seeing her life as a young, grace-filled mother, and also catching up with friends:

Overnight in Tucson with Timarie Lambros and Britt McKenna…gelato after 4 hours of repelling on Mount Lemmon…

The Two “Aunties” Double-Date with Kate

Overnight with the Nam Family, four little kids that I used to babysit here in MD who have all grown up into amazing, fun, godly kids!

Then, I came home on September 22, having secured some networking meetings and job leads in D.C., but no specific offers…

Well, as the story goes, a baby got me a job ๐Ÿ™‚

Two days after I got home, I received an email from two different friends. They were both forwarding me the same e-mail from a particular lady who had posted a job notice on their Google Group (Thanks, Google! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) It came from a woman that was going on maternity leave this month, and whose job was opening up as a temporary position at FRC, Family Research Council.

I e-mailed this acquaintance, Alyssa Groen, expressing interest in the position. While I had been focusing my efforts on finding a job in the international non-profit sector, and this position was within an organization that does domestic public policy on Capital Hill, I thought I would check it out.

Through the course of a few e-mails, Alyssa and I realized what a small world it was. She and I had both spent time serving in Africa, had friends at RVA where I just spent this past year in Kenya, and both had connections to Africa Inland Mission. Even more crazy was the fact that she and her husband attend the newly planted church in Arlington called “Redeemer,” which is a church-plant off of my home church, Covenant Life! How ironic: I just so happened to be visiting the Arlington church THAT very Sunday, so we agreed to meet in person and chat more.

So, last Sunday, we met up at church and chatted for a few minutes about the position at FRC. As of that point in time, they had already offered the job to someone, and were waiting to hear back. So, I didn’t think it was going to turn into anything.

On Monday, Alyssa informed me that the person declined the position, and they wanted me to come in for a interview.

So, I interviewed Wednesday, received a job offer this past Thursday morning, negotiated the contract on Friday, and will start my training THIS Monday! FRC has graciously been accommodating of the fact that I had already planned a trip to Italy with my two girlfriends from Oct 5-16, so they are fine with me starting full-time when I get back.

So, what’s the position? I will be directly reporting to the VP of Advancement & Donor Relations within an administrative assistant role. However, this role will also include direct marketing for new supporters, grant/proposal writing and website copy writing, managing relationships with donors, and a handful of other responsibilities. Alyssa is on maternity leave, so the position is temporary for now, but will be re-evaluated at the end of January, with a strong possibility of it turning into full-time employment.

I am very excited about this opportunity! Not only am I going to have the opportunity to work with a great group of Christian professionals, but I also will have an up-close-and-personal look at the important issues that we are lobbying for on Capital Hill. Many of the core values that FRC is fighting to uphold within the government are ones that are near and dear to my own heart and convictions (and very possibly, yours too!), so it will be such an honor to represent FRC in this way.

So, thanks to Alyssa’s baby for helping create this opening for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

For the moment, though…I’m resting from my Sprint Triathlon yesterday…

…and then I’m off to ITALY on Tuesday night!

Yes, I know, my suitcase seems to be magnet for packing. My two childhood girlfriends and I will be spending 11 days touring Venice, Florence, Tuscany, Cinque Terre and Rome between October 5 and 16th. What a treat. I can’t wait for the fun of traveling with people I have known for years and years…living/traveling within Africa this past year was awesome, but sometimes it was sad knowing that no one was ever going to be able to put it into context, in the same way that you can when you actually experience the same things TOGETHER.

So, back in a few weeks. Stay tuned.

PS. I am looking to do a major re-design of my blog. I can’t afford much, but if you are reading this, and you want some extra cash, I would be willing to hire you to help me re-design my header, text, font, etc.! Contact me at emilyjjansen@gmail.com if interested.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. julie permalink
    October 3, 2010 6:42 pm

    very cool how that worked out. i’ve not met alyssa but when joe needed a place to stay in arlington last spring when he had prep classes for his PMP exam, Kari Faherty put us in touch with Alyssa and they let Joe stay with them so he wouldn’t have to commute back and forth all week! small world!!

  2. October 4, 2010 3:50 pm

    congrats on getting the job! That’s great!
    Have fun in Italy!

Leave a Reply

